Reference whether “Indians” includes “Eskimo”

Supreme Court of Canada – [1939] S.C.R. 104 – “Re Eskimo”


Quebec IdentityJurisdiction over Indians
Summary

This decision confirmed that the Inuit are considered as “Indians” within the meaning of the Constitution and therefore fall under federal jurisdiction.

Issue

Does the term “Indians” in sect. 91 (24) of the British North America Act include the Inuit living in Northern Quebec?

Decision

The term “Indians” includes the Inuit (unanimous decision).

Parties

Interveners: The Dominion of Canada and Quebec

Facts

In 1867, the provinces of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick were united to form the Dominion of Canada when the British North America Act came into force. These territories gained their legislative independence from the British Crown. Legislative powers were distributed between the Dominion and the provinces. Section 91(24) gives Canada jurisdiction over “Indians and lands reserved for the Indians.”

In 1870, the Northwest Territories and Rupert’s Land were annexed. These territories were inhabited mostly by Aboriginals known as “Eskimos” (Inuit today). They became the responsibility of the Department of Indian Affairs. In 1927, the responsibility for the Inuit was transferred to the Department of the Interior.

During the Depression, the Inuit population living in the Quebec Arctic suffered a great famine. Due to the economic crisis, the fur market declined, resulting in the closing of many trading posts in Arctic Quebec and leaving the Inuit without their main means of subsistence. The Department of the Interior refused to allocate them relief funds, maintaining that this was a matter of provincial jurisdiction. Quebec eventually stepped in to provide the Inuit with assistance.

In 1939, with the dispute over the status of the Inuit ongoing between Quebec and the federal government, Parliament sought the opinion of the Supreme Court.

Arguments

Canada: The Inuit cannot be considered Indians within the meaning of s. 91(24) of the British North America Act. The terms “nation” or “tribe” could not be applied to them and they were never under the protection of the British Crown. Furthermore, in an official document addressed to Governor Carleton in 1762 concerning British policy regarding Aboriginals, they were distinguished from the other Aboriginal nations and were excluded by the policy.

Quebec: The Inuit are included in the term “Indians” found at s. 91 (24) due to a long history of missionaries, explorers, government agents, politicians, anthropologists, cartographers and geographers describing them as such. The intention of the Fathers of Confederation was to grant Parliament jurisdiction over all the Aboriginals living within Canada’s boundaries.

Decision of the lower courts

The federal government went directly to the Supreme Court of Canada with the reference question as it concerned a legal issue important to all Canadians.

Reasons for Judgement

Jury

Duff, Cannon, Crocket, Davis

Reason

Kerwin Hudson wrote concurring opinions

The evidence indicates that the Inuit lived predominantly in Rupert’s Land as well as in the Northwest Territories (90% of the total population). It also shows that half the Indian population lived in those territories. Also, numerous official documents clearly demonstrate that governors, commanders-in-chief, clergymen and missionaries regarded the Inuit as Indians or “savages.”

In the 1850s, a House of Commons committee was mandated to conduct a census of the Aboriginal populations under the jurisdiction of the Hudson Bay Co., which was exercising the powers of government over those territories at that time. The British North America Act provided for the future admission of these lands into the Dominion of Canada and so the census was aimed at assessing the size of the populations to be incorporated into Canada. The census included a map illustrating the various Indian bands, including the Eskimo.

The government demonstrated a clear intention to include Eskimos under the term “Indian.”

The Court rejected the argument that the Inuit were never under the Dominion’s jurisdiction, reaffirming that this is not corroborated by the evidence of the Hudson Bay Co.’s dealings with the Eskimo. The language in the Instructions to Sir Guy Carleton does not go against the broad interpretation of the term “Indian.”

Impact

The federal government tried to appeal the decision to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London. It was however unable to do so due to the war (Tester and Kulchyski, p. 34, 1994).

Even though the Supreme Court decided that the term “Indian” included the Inuit of Northern Quebec, the federal government subsequently excluded them from the Indian Act during the amendments of 1951. The government decided to opt for an approach entailing specific programs and services for the Inuit as part of the mandate of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (Chartrand, 1999). The responsibility for the Inuit was consigned to the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Indian Affairs. The Department’s policies were heavily influenced by the Eskimo Affairs Committee, a meeting of representatives of both public and private organizations aimed at helping the Inuit in their transition from a nomadic to a sedentary lifestyle. The Committee also had the right to veto elements in the drafting of new policies concerning the Inuit population. The Committee was dissolved In 1962, a few years after the creation of the Department of Northern Affairs in 1957 (Clancy, 1987).

In the 1960s, Quebec’s interest in natural resources (hydroelectricity, minerals) in its arctic region grew. In 1964, Quebec created the Direction générale du Nouveau Quebec, which took over the federal government’s jurisdiction over the Inuit. Quebec established education and health services in the region for its growing population (Comat, 2009). Rather than in reserves, the Inuit live in municipalities. After 1975, other public institutions were created under the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement. In 2007, Quebec, the Inuit and the federal government reached an agreement on Inuit self-government in the Arctic region with the creation of the regional government of Nunavik (Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, 2009).

Inuit, Métis and non-status Indians

The Eskimo case was used to support the arguments of the Métis and non-status Indians in 2013. The Constitution Act, 1982 recognized the term “Aboriginal” applies to the Métis and Indians as well as the Inuit. However, section 91(24) of the Constitution Act, 1867 is not as clear in the terms used and, unlike in the case of the Inuit, a Court has never made a ruling on the federal government’s jurisdiction over non-status Indians and Métis (Isaac, 2004). As a result, the Privy Council Office is responsible for the Métis instead of the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs, which allows the federal government to circumscribe its responsibility and especially its financial obligations to the Métis (Isaac, 2004). The practical consequences of this exclusion were the marginalization and vulnerability of the Métis and non-status Indians, given their lack of right to any federal program or service that is available to status Indians and the Inuit (Pape, 2013).

In January 2013, the Federal Court ruled that the Métis and non-status Indians are included in federal government’s exclusive jurisdiction set out at s. 91(24) in the Daniels case (Gauthier, 2013). The Eskimo case was helpful in that it specified that the term “Indian” in the Indian Act should be given a wide interpretation and recognized that persons of mixed ascendance are still considered to be “Indian” (Daniels, 2013, para. 551, 558). Like the Inuit, the Métis are Aboriginals who are culturally distinct from Indians and are not covered by the Indian Act. Daniels now prevents the federal government for alleging a lack of jurisdiction over Métis and non-status Indians, as they now fall under its exclusive jurisdiction (Pape, 2013).


Sources

Daniels v. Canada, 2013 FC 6

Paul Chartrand. 1999. The Constitutional Context of section 91 (24). Report prepared for the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples. Ottawa.

Peter Clancy. 1987. The Making of Eskimo Policy in Canada, 1952-62: The Life and Times of the Eskimo Affairs Committee, Arctic 40 (3): 191-197.

Ioana Comat. 2009. Les Inuits (non-published document).

Thomas ISAAC. 2004. Aboriginal Law: commentary, cases and materials, 3rd ed. Saskatoon: Purich Publications.

Frank Tester and Peter Kulchyski. 1994. Tammarritt (Mistakes): Inuit Relocation in the Eastern Arctic, 1939-63. Vancouver: UBC Press.

Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones. 2009. Inuit. Online.  http://www.saa.gouv.qc.ca/relations_autochtones/profils_nations/inuits_en.htm. Accessed July 6, 2009.

Thibault Martin. 2005. De la dépendance à l’autonomie : la longue marche des Inuit du Nunavik, dans Jean MALAURIE et Jacques ROUSSEAU, Du Nouveau-Québec au Nunavik, 1964‑2004 : une fragile autonomie : 469-495. Paris : Economica.

Jean TEILLET and Jason Madden. 2013. Plainspeak on the Daniels Case. In Ralliement national des Métis- News. Online: http://www.metisnation.ca/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Daniels-Plainspeak-FINAL.pdf. Accessed July 28, 2013.

aller vers le haut

Reference whether « Indians » includes « Eskimo »

Cour suprême du Canada – [1939] R.C.S. 104 – « Re Eskimo »


Québec Compétence sur les IndiensIdentité
Sommaire

Cet arrêt confirme que les Inuit sont considérés comme des Indiens au sens de la Constitution et qu’ils relèvent ainsi de la compétence législative fédérale.

Question

L’expression « Indiens », au paragraphe 91(24)  de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique (la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867) comprend-t-elle les Inuit?

Décision

L’expression « Indiens » comprend les Inuit (décision unanime).

Parties

Intervenants : le Québec et le Canada

Faits

En 1867, avec l’entrée en vigueur de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique (AANB), l’Ontario, le Québec, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Nouveau-Brunswick sont réunis dans le Dominion du Canada. Ces territoires acquièrent ainsi leur indépendance législative de la Couronne britannique. Les pouvoirs législatifs sont répartis entre le Canada et les provinces. Le paragraphe 91(24) de l’AANB confère au Canada la compétence sur « les Indiens et les terres réservées aux Indiens ».

 En 1870, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et la Terre de Rupert sont annexés. Ces territoires sont principalement habités par des Autochtones appelés « Esquimaux », maintenant les Inuit. Ces derniers se retrouvent alors sous la responsabilité du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (MAINC). En 1927, la responsabilité concernant les Inuit est assignée au ministère de l’Intérieur.

Pendant la Dépression, les Inuit de l’Arctique québécois connaissent une période de grande famine. En raison de la crise économique, le marché de la fourrure est mauvais. Plusieurs postes de traite ferment, faisant ainsi perdre aux Inuit leur principal moyen de subsistance. Le ministère de l’Intérieur refuse de leur verser des fonds de secours, soutenant qu’il s’agissait-là d’une question de compétence provinciale. Le Québec intervient éventuellement pour soutenir les Inuit.

En 1939, le différend concernant le statut des Inuit n’est toujours pas réglé entre le Québec et le gouvernement fédéral. Le Parlement décide de demander l’avis de la Cour suprême du Canada.

Arguments

Le Canada : Les Inuit ne peuvent être considérés comme des Indiens au sens du par. 91(24) de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Les termes « nation » ou « tribu » ne peuvent s’appliquer à eux, et ils n’ont jamais été sous la protection de la Couronne britannique. Par ailleurs, dans un document officiel adressé en 1762 au gouverneur Carleton concernant la politique britannique relative aux Autochtones, une distinction est faite entre les autres nations autochtones et les Inuit, exclus de cette politique.

Le Québec : Les Inuit étaient inclus dans le terme « Indiens » du par. 91(24) en raison notamment d’une longue histoire de missionnaires, d’explorateurs, d’agents du gouvernement, de politiciens, d’anthropologues, de cartographes et de géographes les décrivant comme tels. Les pères de la Confédération avaient l’intention d’attribuer au Parlement les pouvoirs concernant tous les Autochtones vivant à l’intérieur des frontières du Canada.

Décisions des tribunaux inférieurs

Le gouvernement fédéral a déféré la question directement à la Cour suprême du Canada, car il s’agissait d’une question juridique importante pour l’ensemble des Canadiens.

Motifs

Jury

Duff, Cannon, Crocket, Davis, Kerwin et Hudson ont rédigé des opinions concurrentes

Raison

Les documents cités révèlent que les Inuit vivaient surtout dans la Terre de Rupert et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (90 % de la population totale). Ils indiquent également que la moitié de la population indienne vivait dans ces territoires. En outre, de nombreux documents officiels démontrent que les gouverneurs, les commandants en chef, les membres du clergé et les missionnaires considéraient les Inuits comme des Indiens ou des « sauvages ».

Dans les années 1850, un comité de la Chambre des communes a été mandaté pour effectuer un recensement des populations autochtones relevant de la compétence de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. L’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique prévoyait l’annexion future de ces terres au Canada, et le recensement avait pour but d’évaluer la taille des populations qui seraient intégrées au Canada. Le recensement comprenait une carte illustrant les emplacements des diverses bandes indiennes, y compris des bandes « esquimaudes ».

Cela démontrait clairement l’intention du gouvernement d’inclure les Esquimaux sous le terme « Indien ».

La Cour rejette l’argument soutenant que les Inuit n’ont jamais relevé de la compétence du Canada, affirmant que cela n’était pas corroboré par la preuve des relations existant entre la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et les Esquimaux. Les instructions à Sir Guy Carleton ne vont pas à l’encontre d’une interprétation large du terme « Indien ».

Impact

Le gouvernement fédéral a tenté de porter la cause en appel au Conseil privé de Londres. Toutefois, en raison de la guerre, il n’a pu le faire (Tester et Kulchyski, p. 34, 1994).

Même si la Cour suprême a décidé que le terme « Indien » englobait les Inuit du Nord québécois, le gouvernement fédéral a exclu ces derniers de l’application de la Loi sur les Indiens lors de la révision de 1951. Le gouvernement a opté pour une approche de programmes et de services spécifiques aux Inuit dans le cadre du mandat de développement nordique du MAINC (Chartrand, 1999). La responsabilité concernant les Inuit a été confiée à la Direction générale de l’administration du Nord du ministère des Affaires indiennes. Les politiques de cette Direction générale ont été fortement influencées par le Comité des affaires esquimaudes, un regroupement de représentants d’organismes publics et privés ayant pour but d’aider les Inuit à effectuer la transition d’un mode de vie nomade vers un mode de vie sédentaire. Ce comité détenait également un droit de veto sur l’élaboration de toute nouvelle politique concernant la population inuite. Le comité a été dissous en 1962, quelques années après la création du ministère des Affaires du Nord survenue en 1957 (Clancy, 1987).

Dans les années 1960, l’intérêt du Québec pour les ressources naturelles (hydroélectricité, minéraux) de sa région arctique s’accroît. En 1964, il crée la Direction générale du Nouveau-Québec, qui prend la relève du gouvernement fédéral auprès des Inuit. Le Québec instaure des services éducatifs et de santé dans la région pour desservir une population en pleine croissance (Comat, 2009). Les Inuit vivent dans des municipalités et non dans des réserves. Après 1975, des institutions publiques inuites sont créées en vertu de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois. En 2007, le Québec, les Inuit et le gouvernement fédéral concluent une entente relative à l’autonomie gouvernementale des Inuit de la région arctique devant mener à la création du gouvernement régional du Nunavik (Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, 2009).

Inuit, Métis et Indiens non-inscrits

L’arrêt Eskimo a été utilisé comme appui aux prétentions des Métis et des Indiens non-inscrits en 2013. La Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 reconnait que le terme « autochtone » s’applique aux Métis, aux Indiens ainsi qu’aux Inuits. Toutefois, le paragraphe 91 (24) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 n’est pas aussi clair dans les termes qu’il utilise et, contrairement à la situation des Inuits, jamais une Cour ne s’est prononcée sur la compétence du fédéral relativement aux Indiens non-inscrits et au Métis (Isaac, 2004). Résultat, c’est le Bureau du conseil privé du Canada qui est responsable des Métis et non le ministère des Affaires indiennes, ce qui permet au gouvernement fédéral de limiter sa responsabilité, mais surtout son fardeau financier face aux Métis (Isaac, 2004). Les conséquences pratiques de cette exclusion ont été de rendre les Métis et les Indiens non-inscrits marginalisés et vulnérables. Ils n’avaient droit à aucun programme ou service fédéral autrement accessibles aux Indiens inscrits et aux Inuit (Pape, 2013).

En janvier 2013, la Cour fédérale a statué dans l’arrêt Daniels que les Métis et les Indiens non-inscrits font partie de la compétence exclusive du fédéral en vertu du paragraphe 91(24) (Gauthier, 2013). L’arrêt Eskimo a été utile, puisqu’il précise que le terme indien dans la Loi doit être interprété de façon large et reconnait que les gens d’ascendance mixte ont toujours été perçus comme des « Indiens » (Daniels, 2013, para. 551, 558). Comme les Inuit, les Métis sont des Autochtones culturellement différents des Indiens et ne sont pas visés par la Loi sur les Indiens. Daniels empêche maintenant le fédéral d’invoquer son manque de compétence à l’égard des Métis et des Indiens non-inscrits puisqu’ils font partie de sa compétence exclusive (Pape, 2013).


Sources

Daniels c. Canada, 2013 CF 6

Frank Tester et Peter Kulchyski. 1994. Tammarritt (Mistakes) : Inuit Relocation in the Eastern Arctic, 1939-63. Vancouver : UBC Press.

GAUTHIER, Amy et LEBEAU, Pierre-Christian. 2013. Les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits sont des Indiens selon la Cour fédérale. In Norton Rose- Actualité juridique. En ligne : http://www.nortonrosefulbright.com/files/les-metis-et-les-indiens-non-inscrits-sont-des–indiens–selon-la-cour-federale-74697.pdf. Consulté le 17 juillet 2013.

Ioana Comat. 2009. Les Inuits (document non publié).

ISAAC Thomas. 2004. Aboriginal Law : commentary, cases and materials, 3rd ed. Saskatoon : Purich Pub

PAPE SALTER TEILLET, Barristers and solicitors. 2013. Plainspeak on the Daniels Case. In Ralliement national des Métis- News. En ligne : http://www.metisnation.ca/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Daniels-Plainspeak-FINAL.pdf.Consulté le 28 juillet 2013

Paul Chartrand. 1999. The Constitutional Context of section 91 (24). Rapport préparé à l’intention du Congrès des peuples autochtones. Ottawa.

Peter Clancy. 1987. The Making of Eskimo Policy in Canada, 1952-62 : The Life and Times of the Eskimo Affairs Committee, Arctic 40 (3) : 191-197.

Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones. 2009. Inuit. En ligne.

http://www.saa.gouv.qc.ca/relations_autochtones/profils_nations/inuits_en.htm. Consulté le 6 juillet 2009.

Thibault Martin. 2005. De la dépendance à l’autonomie : la longue marche des Inuit du Nunavik, dans Jean MALAURIE et Jacques ROUSSEAU, Du Nouveau-Québec au Nunavik, 1964‑2004 : une fragile autonomie : 469-495. Paris : Economica.

aller vers le haut